Today is The Chief and my second anniversary.  We’ve been married for, like, YEARS, as he said this morning :)  Tonight we’ll be low-key and go out for pho (we are soooo fancy) and on Friday we’ll have a date and go see The Hobbit.  We met at his Lord of the Rings movie marathon party, so this is actually a meaningful and awesome way to celebrate two years together.  And boy do I love him.

So, we’re back from a week of vacation spent with my mom and grandparents in Michigan.  I need to plug in my camera and download a few photos before I can get my next post up, but I’m just so overflowing with energy that I decided to babble a little bit without the photos.

I feel so energetic right now! I know Christmas is coming, and I LOVE Christmas, but between my natural inclinations, the house projects, and the fact that we’re going to have a new member of the family come April, we are not doing much for Christmas this year. I’ll probably put up our few seasonal decorations this week, and we’ll get our tree this weekend, and I have some cards to send out. That’s about it. I think we talked about having a quiet Christmas day too, maybe just the two of us.

What my brain is full of is decorating & remodeling plans, color combining, and baby gear! Because she has a great sale this week I just bought Maria Killam’s eBook which I have had my eye on for a while, and I am looking forward to sitting down and going through that. I have two rooms in my house painted a mildly pinky beige – not meat colored like some of those beiges, but still not the direction I want to go – and I love her color tutorials.  Also I love paint chips.   Yes I do.

paint chips

I expect to learn a lot of very useful stuff with this book.  I’m thinking of the various rooms we have that can use some color help and I’m excited to imagine how I can improve them on a budget.  Sometimes budgets are frustrating, but a lot of the time I really like the creative challenge they force.  Limits are good!  It keeps me from being stressed with too many options, or letting perfectionism take over.

Also, I’m now at the halfway point with this pregnancy (the Chief felt the baby’s kicks for the first time yesterday, whee!!) and I’ve got a little program running in the back of my brain constantly, figuring out how we will incorporate Baby into our household and thinking about how simple I can make it with the minimum of STUFF…  I really don’t like or want a lot of the baby junk they have out there.   I would like neutral, simple things, and just the basics.  Mom and I went shopping for baby clothes at the thrift store in MI (new Carter onesies for 80 cents!!) and besides the bleachable white stuff, came home with solids, stripes, and dots mostly in green, brown, gray, and navy.   I just made a date with a family friend to accompany me to Babies R Us and help me figure out how to fold a stroller and try on baby carriers.  I was overwhelmed going in there by myself and had to leave after five minutes!

If we had room for a nursery, it would probably look like this.  Dark and cozy.  Lauren Liess did such a great job.

/

 As a first time mom with no baby experience, trying to figure out what we need and how to prepare for life after Baby is taking a lot of brain space.   I can’t wait to meet our new person!  I also know I will have days where it will seem like my life purpose is to wipe up gross things and I will want to trade my life with someone else.  Hopefully not too many of those days!  God, please give us an easy baby.  Amen. 

So that’s what’s on my mind at the moment.  Lots of exclamation points, which I’m going to take as a good sign of exciting times that I am excited about.  I think this will be a blessed Advent, even without Christmasy type things occupying my spare time.   Enjoying the Lord and anticipating His birth doesn’t require major decor and crafts, you know?  What’s occupying you this season?  I hope you are having fun and finding contentment in the midst of excitement and busyness!

